top of page

Balearic Breakfast 2 (Vinyl / 2CD)

Updated: Jul 11, 2023

The second volume of the "Balearic Breakfast" compilation is available for preorder on heavenly recordings.

Balearic Breakfast Vol. 2

Like 2022’s acclaimed first Balearic Breakfast album, this one features eleven tracks that drift between space rock and soul, disco and deep house, ambient and electronica, old and new, fast and slow. In the words of Cosmo herself, these tracks are a “hodge-podge of chill out, spiritual jazz, deep soul, percussive house, quirky disco, indie-dance and what may ‘traditionally’ be called ‘Balearic’ (whatever that may be).” In the words of Heavenly, these albums are horizontal masterpieces that should be prescribed on the NHS as they’re filled with the kind of blissed-out music that’s guaranteed to lift you out of the mundane and the every day, wherever you are.

Volume one of Balearic Breakfast was tasty as all heck, serving up a smorgasbord of "space rock and soul, disco and deep house, ambient and electronica". Now, Colleen Cosmo Murphy returns to the table with a second helping of nothing but the good stuff, old and new, fast and slow, and even featuring our very own Chaos in the CBD's rework of Dip In The Pool's What About This Love. Nothing short of tasty!

Welcome back to another serving of Balearic Breakfast, the most essential meal of anyone's day. Presented (and conceived) by Colleen 'Cosmo' Murphy, this particular breakfast has grown out of a decades-long fascination with the power of radio, going back to Colleen's earliest days as a teen (via WNYU in New York) and - after moving to the UK in 1999 - as the host of one of Worldwide FM's top-rated shows. Broadcasting is at the core of her DNA, so finding herself at something of a loose end when the pandemic hit – unable to DJ and hemmed in by a deadly virus – she did what anyone with a revolutionary zeal for spreading good vibes and ace music would do: she started broadcasting from her record room, deep in the heart of the East London. Balearic Breakfast is space rock and soul, disco and deep house, ambient and electronica, old and new, fast and slow.

This is not a tricksy DJ mix, but a carefully curated selection of songs that capture the diversity and breadth of her tastes. Many of these tracks have never been available on vinyl before and the ones that have are going for hilariously expensive amounts. Forget the eggs, bacon, coffee and toast, close your eyes and let the cerulean ocean lap up to your feet. You can almost feel the sun. Breakfast has never sounded so good.


  1. Mental Remedy – Omamiuda (Prayer for Japan Version)

  2. Manolo – Amalfi Drive

  3. Gallo – Abysso (Calm's Mello Mellow Acid Dub)

  4. HF International Featuring Kashif – I Can't Go for That (No Can Do) (Kaoru Inoue Extended Disco Dub)

  5. Residentes Balearicos – Juno's Dream (Gold Suite Remix)

  6. Dølle Jølle – Balearic Incarnation (Todd Terje's Extra DRØLL Mix)

  7. Hard Feelings – Love Scenes (Cosmodelica Extended Remix)

  8. Monks Road Social Featuring Belle McNulty – On the Wings of Morning

  9. Midlake – Roscoe (Beyond the Wizards Sleeve Re-Animation)

  10. Lunar Dunes – Moon Bathing

  11. Dip in the Pool – What About This Love (Chaos in the CBD Remix)

72 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page